St. Baldrick’s

It’s the little things in life that get me excited.  Falling asleep before ten.  Having a break-down free day.Going to the St. Baldrick’s charity event this weekend.  It’s going to be fun.  Not only do I get to drink green beer and watch my stepfather get his head shaved, I will be supporting research grants for all different forms of childhood cancers.

My stepfather does this every year and I miss it every time.  I would shave my head too, but I have grown quite attached to my hair.  I really don’t think anyone wants to see me bald anyway.  I know it’s for the millions of children that don’t have a choice.  They don’t have the luxury of deciding what bow to put in their hair.  They are fighting with every bone in their little tiny bodies, to live. To survive.

Something I take I take all this granted.  I get up every morning.  Sure, I’ve got aches and pains, and an anger that rivals Mel Gibson’s.  But, I’m healthy.  My babies are healthy.  My husband is healthy.  (Do you get where I’m going with this?). We are lucky.  Too many families are not so lucky.  Too families have to watch their precious babies die.

We have made so many advances in cancer treatment, yet no cure.  That’s where St. Baldrick’s comes in.  They fund grants for cancer research.  I’m proud to be a donor and I’m proud of my stepfather for being a “shavee”.  If you would like to donate or participate here is the website:  http://www.stbaldricks.org/participants/mypage/530945/2012

One thought on “St. Baldrick’s

Leave a Reply

