My watchful eye.

Everything happens for a reason, right?  What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, right?  Karma is a bitch.  Shit happens.

What if something happens that just makes no sense?  There is no reason.  It didn’t make you stronger.  Karma can’t be found and the situation didn’t just happen.

What if I can’t put the problem in a neat little box and save it for later?  What if, the problem is larger then that?  What if there is no solution?  What if it’s just a fucked up thing, that can’t be explained away.

What do I tell my children?  How do I explain senseless, events that have no reason, no explanation?  How can I protect them from something that isn’t there?  But it is there.  All around us, screwed up, messed up people, problems, situations that make no sense.  How do I protect their innocence but give them the tools to be smart? 

I have time.  They are protected by my watchful eye.  One day, I’m going to have to have faith in the fact, I taught them right.  I taught them to protect themselves. To have morals, to have trust in me and their father.  That we won’t steer them wrong.

I don’t have that much time.  Before I know it, they will be thirteen and riding their bikes to a friends house.  Without my watchful eye to protect them.

Laura….

Leave a Reply

