James Donald Birks-my hero.

I sit here.  Helpless.  Lost with tear stained cheeks.  I’m listening to you struggle to breathe.  To the machines pumping oxygen into your swollen body.  Knowing that this is the end.  The end of a long battle.  A hard battle and you’re tired.  Tired of hospitals, tired of getting dialysis, tired of fighting. 
I want you to know that you are and always will be my hero.  My knight in shining armor.  The standard on which I have judged every man I’ve ever met.  I called you the bionic man.  I still believe that.  I believe you are tired that’s all.  And you know what?  You’re allowed to be.  I want you to go into that dark night knowing,  I love you. 

You pulled me up when I was down.  You laughed with and at me.  You made me feel special.   We have a bond.  A bond that goes deeper than love from a grandfather to a granddaughter.  You were always in my corner, even when no one else was.  You taught me to fish, to mow the lawn, to bale hay, to build a birdhouse.  But most importantly, you taught me that I was worthwhile of love and kindness. 

As I sit here watching you fight your last battle, with tear stained cheeks, I know this is what you want and I will be here.  I will be here so your not alone.  I will fight this battle with you.  I will see you into the darkness, because I know, there is beautiful light on the other side.

This isn’t goodbye, rather, see you later.

Poppy, I love you to the moon and back.

Love always

Laura Lou.

image

One thought on “James Donald Birks-my hero.

Leave a Reply

