For the love of crank and spank

It’s been an emotional week.  Filled with lots of tears, lots of second guessing, and lots of worry.  In times like these, children can really put things into perspective.  

Things said by crank and spank while Charlie  (our cat) was dying this week.

1.  We can get in a big airplane and visit him in heaven.

2.  Don’t cry mommy.  Charlie loves you.  We love you.  

3.  (While crying themselves)  I’m going to miss Charlie.  The doctor can’t make him better?

4.  Are there toys and treats in heaven for Charlie?  He likes treats.

5.  How will Charlie get to heaven?

6.  Mommy?  Are you still sad?  Charlie is in heaven now?  But he’s happy.  He has all those treats.

7.  I miss Charlie.  Will he jumping on the clouds?

8.  But what if we get a Really big airplane.  Can we go visit him and Leroy (our other cat that passed away) then?

9.  Mommy?  Can I give Charlie a kiss? 

10.  I love Charlie.  I love you. 

It breaks my heart and fills my heart all at the same time. 

We tried really hard not let Charlie’s death consume us this week, but it seemed reminders were everywhere we turned. 

We made bunny crayons and wore bunny ears.  We danced and sang silly songs, but our hearts were heavy. 

One thought on “For the love of crank and spank

  1. Oh my goodness, it has been a terrible week for sure for all of you. My mother, your grandmother, used to tell me they ran away when our kitties died. I would call for their names forever and would come it so sad when they didn’t come back. I promised my kids I would always tell the truth even when it was hard. I am proud of you for telling them the truth . It is never easy. Pet ownership is never easy. Love ❤

Leave a Reply

