I Quit You.

After what seemed like a thousand years, (it was 14 years full time, 18 years on and off), I quit my job. 

I have dreamed of this day for almost as long as I worked for them.  I thought I’d go out in a blaze of glory.  Maybe set the building a flame and watch it burn to the ground.  Maybe, tell everyone exactly what I think of them.  Brutal honesty.  Or maybe, I’d set up a walk out and leave upper management to fend for themselves. 

image

None of that happened.   It was quite simply a text stating I quit.  There was no fire, no brutal honesty, no walk out.  I didn’t tell customers to fuck off or destroy the store.  Just simply, I quit

There was no, please don’t go, or what can we do to make you happy.  ( my co workers did) I was miserable. This job wasn’t supposed to forever.  It was just until I found my passion.  My passion is not retail.  It never was and it never will be.  I don’t have tolerance for stupid, or lazy.  I don’t do ignorant.  I certainly don’t like being lied to.  People tend to underestimate my bullshit detector.  I’m not really sure why, but they do. 

image

I’m not sure where life is going to take me next but I do know that I’ll be much happier.  I’m already happier.  A burden has been lifted off my shoulders and I cut the anchor that holding me back.  All I can do from here is soar.  

image

2 thoughts on “I Quit You.

Leave a Reply

